Mental Health

A Simple Method to Counter Irrational Thoughts

The Two Minutes That Changed How I Think

Watch the two minutes from 27:00 to 29:00

I first encountered this very quick, easy and effective method whilst trawling the self-help world of podcasts. I was feeling particularly anxious around this time following a patch of bad runs and the negative thoughts were building. I had recently found Jay Shetty’s podcast on Spotify and started listening to one that he did with Dr Amen (above and below).

Ever since hearing these particular two minutes, I have used this method any time I feel anxiety building. If you can’t listen to it, I am going to summarise below!

Listen to the two minutes by pressing play and then scrubbing to -1:00:44

Dr Amen introduces this as a methodical approach to use when you are feeling “sad, mad, nervous or out of control” and encourages you to write down what you’re thinking– which is what I now do using this format. He then goes onto explain how this formed part of Captain Snout and the Super Power Questions, his children’s book….

At this point I could have switched off, especially when he goes onto provide an example of this in practice with a four year old, but no, I put my pride aside…just as I do now to admit that I needed this and it really does help me. I will present Dr Amens cute example, and then provide my version.

Dr Amen with his devastated 4 year old daughter who, after announcing to her mother that she is going to get her ears pierced, is told no – not until you are 5 years old…

1. What’s the matter? Mommy won’t let me get my ears pierced until I am 5
2. So what’s the matter? I can’t wait until I am 5
3. Is that true? Yes
4. Absolutely true?…what do you mean? Will you die if you don’t? *eye roll* of course not
5. How does it feel when you believe you can’t wait? I’m mad, and I’m sad and my ears aren’t cute
6. Who would you be without that thought? 4 years old, free
7. What’s the opposite of I can’t wait? I can wait until I’m 5

Me before an interview…

1. What’s the matter? I am nervous about my interview. I feel sick and teary, I am worried that I will mess up answering the questions, that I will embarrass myself in front of people, that I won’t put my best foot forward and that I will cringe remembering things I did and didn’t say
2. So what’s the matter? I will be scarred for life recalling this memory over and over, I won’t get this job and will likely not get an interview for such a good opportunity again
3. Is that true? It is possible
4. Absolutely true?…will I never move on from this interview or go to another job interview again? No
5. How does it feel when you believe that you’ll be scarred and stagnant for life? I feel scared and anxious and doomed about my future
6. Who would you be without that thought? I would be confident, calm and hopeful
7. What’s the opposite of that thought? I will not be scarred by this interview and I will get other interviews and possibly better opportunities in future

I have various versions of these that I sometimes write and then throw away. It has become one of my go-to methods for helping to calm my nerves and really forces me to consider my thought patterns in detail instead of whirling in a thought tornado.

But What Does That Mean?

  1. There is a higher visibility and deliberate importance put onto helping people with their mental health these days, and a lot of us were not privy to this growing up
  2. You are not too old to learn about thought and emotion management, regardless of the target audience of the material
  3. “We don’t have to believe every stupid thing with think”- Dr Amen

Leave a comment